XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:31 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:58 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times

daemon1 wrote:
If you can tell me whats wrong here, I'll apply them.

They looks like autogenerated averaged normals, epecially on car fuel cap - this makes lighting to looks different.
You need to read normals data from game models and apply to converted ones, but I'm not a programmer, so I can't say if it possible in this case.
You can see difference between averaged and properly read normals here: viewtopic.php?p=120766#p120766
Maybe you can get clues by comparing original and fixed scripts?..

You can make the ads go away by registering



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:02 am 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1243
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 609 times
Andrakann wrote:
They looks like autogenerated averaged normals


I know. I've sent you file with normals from the game. Look at them and tell me whats wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:40 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
daemon1 wrote:
I know. I've sent you file with normals from the game. Look at them and tell me whats wrong.

Not sure I have a proper importer for ascii, and this is character model, so it's harder to see a difference between "original" and averaged normals, but this lines looks wrong:
Image
Maybe it because I used wrong tool.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:37 am 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1243
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 609 times
Andrakann wrote:
but this lines looks wrong


The problem is not in this line. ALL NORMALS are not working. They are properly extracted from model, but they just don't work. Until someone can tell me how to fix them, I'll leave them for autogeneration.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 1:03 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1243
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 609 times
I checked files from World at War. They are all different. So I need time to reverse their formats.

Why is it all needed? I thought all CoD games were already researched. Or they can't be ripped now for some reasons?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 1:10 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:41 pm
Posts: 25
Has thanked: 13 times
Have thanks: 7 times
daemon1 wrote:
I checked files from World at War. They are all different. So I need time to reverse their formats.

Why is it all needed? I thought all CoD games were already researched. Or they can't be ripped now for some reasons?


There are only memory rippers for COD Games, and they only work starting with Black Ops 1 and up, do you think you could give more details on how you read the meshes from the .FF? Any chance for a sourcecode release on github? Nobody so far has really managed to read out meshes directly from the .ff, not sure why but i never bothered to check them myself


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:16 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
daemon1 wrote:
They are properly extracted from model, but they just don't work.

Ok, I figured out than you are using XNA-Lara mesh.ascii file format, but most recent importer also have same problem with normals in your files.
I do some (stupid) comparison of model with normals looking correct and yours, and see some difference here:
Image
I didn't dig mesh.ascii format structure, but you are using 4 digits instead of 3 and, maybe, different sequence of data lines?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:18 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 835
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 156 times
Have thanks: 89 times
daemon1 wrote:
Why is it all needed? I thought all CoD games were already researched. Or they can't be ripped now for some reasons?
they can but you have to install official modding tool for specific game. Unfortunately official mod tools are hard to find this days even for sale.

_________________
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:22 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 369
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 590 times
Have thanks: 176 times
I do another comparison, with gun model, and it's looks very alike:
Image
So, maybe devs uses autosmoothed models + normal maps for rendering?
I will do some rips for test later...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:27 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 835
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 156 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Andrakann wrote:
So, maybe devs uses autosmoothed models + normal maps for rendering?
yes, this is how normal maps works — you need to smooth all the model to properly use normal map on it. except the case where you need a hard angle.

_________________
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:28 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1243
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 609 times
Andrakann wrote:
So, maybe devs uses autosmoothed models + normal maps for rendering?


NO. They have normals in models. You don't understand what I say.

I posted a tool without normals. Because I can't apply them to the model.

I only made 1 file with normals extracted to show you that they don't work.

Может так будет понятнее. Это не касается формата ascii файла, там всё правильно. Я могу извлечь нормали из моделей, но я этого не делаю, потому что они не работают как надо.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:38 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 835
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 156 times
Have thanks: 89 times
daemon1 wrote:
They have normals in models.
I think those models have been saved into game format with autogenerated models. The game looks a bit quality lack even for that year. I suppose it's because it was made for film advertisement. So I don't think devs had much time to bother making smooth groups for the models. I suggest to leave these models smooth as it is. btw I ripped the models and their smoothing is not worth of time.

_________________
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:40 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1243
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 609 times
Tosyk wrote:
So I don't think devs had much time to bother making smooth groups for the models.


They made them. I see them. I can extract them. They are proper normals.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:25 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 835
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 156 times
Have thanks: 89 times
daemon1 wrote:
They made them. I see them. I can extract them. They are proper normals.
I'm sure they are. I'm just saying that since they are autogenerated they just looks wrong. Even if you autogenerating normals 3D software still inputs information about normals inside each vertex on export. So they are normals, yes but they are improperly made.

_________________
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 007 Quantum of Solace
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:06 pm 
Offline
double-veteran
double-veteran

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Posts: 1243
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 609 times
Tosyk wrote:
I'm just saying that since they are autogenerated


No they are not. What you see in current tool is autogenerated by 3Dmax because I didn't put proper normals into the tool yet.



Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DeeepLonE, kaiser21 and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group