XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:04 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 261 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:27 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
For Pete's sake...
I have un-initialized UV mapping.
I can't believe this EVER worked at all!!!

Let me get this fixed and we'll try again.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:17 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Ok...
Try version 28
http://209.159.152.184:8080/terra/

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 542 times
I think we need more playtesters here. It doesn't help. I do delete the old version from it's location though, to make sure I do a clean install. Unless you're doing something with the registry, or dll files ?
I can't imagine why it wouldn't work, since the game also works fine. There must be something fishy going on.

I'm running on Windows 10, btw.

Perhaps I can also find another computer to start it on. I tried my Surface Pro, but Terra failed on that, OpenGL error. I've got some more, but I need to get them up and running first. Would help if other people dropped in and tried it.

_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:13 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
I don't get it...
I thought for sure that was the problem.

I also don't think running Windows 10 has anything to do with it. Most everything is rendering correctly.

Did you try unchecking "Bump Map Models"? under the settings--> Graphics?
That will by pass the shader all together.

I don't understand how it can load the trees and their textures and yet the textures not work on the models. We know they are loading.

And yes.. It would help if others that are downloading this (Yes there ARE others) would report any thing strange or.... at least comment on it working or not.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 10:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 4005
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 542 times


That is with Bump map models off. See also that the Watchtower textures for instance seem to load fine.

Also, I notice some hardcoded paths in the .exe like:

Code:
C:\!_Textured Sphere\DXF_to_MESH\obj\x86\Release\Terra.pdb
C:\
C:\Games\World of Tanks


My game is not on C, by the way, and I do not have this Textured Sphere path.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.


_________________
Please like our Facebook page!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:23 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
thanks...
I didn't work on this much.

I believe those paths are commented out.
I'll double check.
If they are there is a single quote mark in front of them. This kind --> '

EDIT:
Those are default settings.. File open dialog is one of them... It gets it's path replace in the code to the to WoT root folder when you open a team layout.

This is so strange.

On a good node... I did manage to figure out how to stop the decals from Z-fighting and layer the decals sorta correctly.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:15 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Looking at that image I can tell that the textures are bound but the UVs are not working.
Each model is a different color unless they are the same model like the tanks in the foreground.
This means its picking up a color from the texture map but painting the entire model with it.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:47 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Well...
I added a couple things and fixed the main texture getting screwed up after loading a new map.
I can't figure out why it wont render the models with textures on Mr. Mouse's system. :(

I uploaded a new version 29.
Same link as before..

Here's a pic for ya.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.


_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:25 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
I uploaded version 30.
I disabled the ability to select tanks using the mouse center button and forgot to re-enable it after adding back in model selection.

I am going to consider this project complete for now and move back to working on the editor.

If anyone is testing this and has input.. I wanna here it!!!

Thanks..

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:36 pm 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:32 am
Posts: 66
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 19 times
Have you tried fetching lights settings from the game? I was searching for any light data but with no luck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 7:51 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
SkaceKachna wrote:
Have you tried fetching lights settings from the game? I was searching for any light data but with no luck


In the space.settings xml there are these lines:
Code:
<timeOfDay>system/data/sky06_Ensk.xml</timeOfDay>
<skyGradientDome>system/data/sky06_Ensk.xml</skyGradientDome>
<flora>spaces/06_ensk/flora.xml</flora>

TimeOfDay points at the file that contains all the settings regarding the lights color, position and all that.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:01 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
I don't use any of that information.
I get the dome model and its texture.
I translate the dome to where ever my camera is and draw it first with depth testing shut off.
There is no need to try to draw the dome so it covers the entire map.

I found that if I rotate the map +90 in the y axis, I get a better match to the game.
This rotation might be in that file I mentioned above.

If you really wanted to make it exactly like the game, you would need 2 cube maps and the dome.
I believe the cube maps are for PBS but I haven't really looked in to that much.

Oh... and the fog settings are in that file as well.. I also don't use them.
In the game they use volume-metric fog. I don't know how to do that (yet).

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:15 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
The water texture I use, I found on the internet.
Its a dds and too turquoise so I tent it in the render pass and make it more blue.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.


_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:27 pm 
Offline
advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:32 am
Posts: 66
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 19 times
Ok, thanks, I already bumped into those files, didn't think it has enought data to generate proper lighting ... I'll have to do some experiments


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Tanks Map format.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:31 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
No problem..
You might want to look at the horizionShadows in the cdata \terrain2 folders.
It looks to be the shadow map for all static items.
I messed around with it some but never got it working. The sun has to be fixed.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 261 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group