XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:10 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 768 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48 ... 52  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:56 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times














You can make the ads go away by registering

Ok...
Try version 30.1.3 and see if it crashes.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:09 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
I'm not sure why anything about the scale would change. I apply no scaling at export.

Form what I remember World of Tanks setting for Maya and 3Ds... 10cm = 1 unit length.

I'd import it with no scale and then calculate what it needs to be.
if it imports at 125 meters and it needs to be 240 meters its:
240/125 = scale up value. = 1.92 or 192%

I finally fixed that problem with the mouse entering the treeview and re-selecting the node.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:17 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Ok.. there is a nasty problem with that build... let me fix it.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:27 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
version 30.1.4 is uploading
Try that one.
http://209.159.152.184:8080/WoW/

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:37 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
If you have problems with this version..
Uninstall , download again and install fresh.

BTW.. this version should render a little faster.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:46 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 385
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 665 times
Have thanks: 182 times
Coffee wrote:
Ok...
Try version 30.1.3 and see if it crashes.

30.1.4 crashes on Tirpiz.
Also if I try to export res\content\helpers\Measure_100m.primitives to FBX.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:49 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Im going to need to add code to check if the textures are present.
Looks like the 100m model has only diffuse.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:09 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Version 30.1.5 is uploading.

This checks the paths of the textures in the data..
If there is not one.. that texture is not created in the FBX..

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:36 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 385
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 665 times
Have thanks: 182 times
All exports ok :)
Measure_1000.primitives have rendering bugs in editor and it's 667.0m of lenght in max.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:55 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Thats good its exporting..

If you want, you can add 2 lines to the bump shader.
Press E and on the bottom, select bump.
Find this

float lambertTerm = max(dot(PN,L) , 0.0);

if (lambertTerm > 0.0)

and put these 2 lines between those lines
Spec = mix (1.0, Spec, show_diffuse2);
specM = mix (1.0, specM, show_diffuse2);

so afterwards, it should look like this:

float lambertTerm = max(dot(PN,L) , 0.0);
Spec = mix (1.0, Spec, show_diffuse2);
specM = mix (1.0, specM, show_diffuse2);

if (lambertTerm > 0.0)

click 'Recompile'

Now when you shut off diffuse2 'K' and bump 'B'.. any objects with only the diffuse texture will render ok.


If you don't want to make the changes, They will be in the next version.
This is the entire fragment shader with the changes if you want to just replace all of it
Code:
//bump_fragment

#version 130

in vec3 vVertex;
in vec3 g_vertexnormal;
in vec3 g_viewvector;
in vec3 lightDirection;
in vec2 TC1;
//in vec3 BN;
//in vec3 BT;
in mat3 TBN;
out vec4 out_color;
//
uniform sampler2D colorMap;
uniform sampler2D colorMap2;
uniform sampler2D normalMap;
uniform sampler2D metalMap;
uniform float level0;
uniform float level1;
uniform float in_specular;
uniform float multi_textured;
uniform float show_diffuse2;
uniform float show_diffuse;
uniform float show_bumpmap;
uniform float alphaTest;
uniform vec2 detail_tile;
uniform float show_normals;
uniform float selected;
uniform float dummy;
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

void main()
{
    float   a;
    float alpha;
    vec3 bumpMap;
    const float light_diffuse = 0.4;
    const float harshness = 1.2;  // tweak gamma a bit
    vec3 N = normalize(g_vertexnormal);
   
    vec4 color2;
    float metal = 0.0;
    float shadow;
    vec4 final_color;
    vec4 color = texture2D(colorMap, TC1);
    if (alphaTest != 0.0)
    {
        if (color.a < 0.1)
        {
            discard;
        }
    }
    color       = mix(vec4(0.4,0.4,0.4,color.a), color, show_diffuse);
    final_color = vec4(color * vec4(0.5,0.5,0.5,1.0));
    bumpMap     = (2.0 * texture2D (normalMap, TC1).rgb - 1.0);
    bumpMap     = normalize(bumpMap);
    final_color = mix(final_color,vec4(0.9,0.9,0.0,1.0),dummy);
    color       = mix(color, color * vec4(1.0,0.0,0.0,1.0),selected);
    final_color = mix(final_color, vec4(color * vec4(0.8,0.0,0.0,1.0)), selected);
    vec4 cmix   = color;
    cmix.rgb  = color.rgb * texture2D(colorMap2, TC1.xy ).rgb * 1.35;
    color.rgb = mix (color.rgb, cmix.rgb, multi_textured * show_diffuse2);
    // Get the perturbed normal
    vec3 PN = normalize( TBN * bumpMap );
    PN = mix(N, PN, show_bumpmap);
    // light position
    vec3 L = normalize(lightDirection);
    float Spec = texture2D(metalMap, TC1.xy ).r ;
    float specM = texture2D(metalMap, TC1.xy ).g ;
    float lambertTerm = max(dot(PN,L) , 0.0);
    Spec  = mix (1.0, Spec, show_diffuse2);
    specM = mix (1.0, specM,  show_diffuse2);

    if (lambertTerm > 0.0)
    {
        final_color += (light_diffuse *  lambertTerm * color*1.5);
        vec3 E = normalize(g_viewvector.xyz);
        vec3 R = normalize(-reflect(L, PN));
        float specular = pow( max(dot(R, E), 0.0), 60.0 * specM);
        final_color += (specular * Spec * in_specular);
    }
   

    out_color = final_color *4.0 * level0;
    const vec3 vG = vec3(harshness , harshness , harshness);
    out_color.rgb = pow(out_color.rgb, vG/level1);
    out_color.rgb = mix(out_color.rgb, N.rgb, show_normals);
}
//end


I got around using 'If' statements by using the Mix function.. Its MUCH faster than doing 'If.. Then'

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:16 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 385
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 665 times
Have thanks: 182 times
Coffee wrote:
If you want, you can add 2 lines to the bump shader.

I'll try this, but later - I'm going to sleep, it's late here...

Both planes exports into one group, and no plane names here to identify:
Image

Also I have to set ambient color for all materials to black and ambient map mode to "Modulate" instead of "Replace" (maybe this only Deep Exploration related).

Material names is very uninformative...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:08 am 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
what version of 3ds max are you using?
My treeview is nothing like that.

Anyway....
For now, hide the plane you don't care to export.. It's an easy fix. If you want to know the name of the plane.. look at its diffuse texture name.

It would of been much better if the models exported to FBX didn't remove things with the same name.

I have been trying to set some of the material parameters and I can't.
According to the FBX spec, there is no way to set double sided. I find this very hard to believe. Its an important material aspect!
The only things you can set about materials is basically the colors of diffuse, ambient and so on.

In my version of Max, all I have to do is select the object and the material that's bound to it will highlight.
I cant really change the material names to match objects.. the same material is used on a lot of different models.
I don't think we want to make new materials just to make the names match the object. It would eat a 'boat load' of space, slow down export/import and make the FBX file larger.

I have spent hundreds of hours on this project.. Not only do I have to load the models and export them, I have to get all the data from the gameparams.data before I can do anything.
The Master XML creator was a lot of work and will need to be updated every time the add a nation.
My app does 99.99999% of the work... all that's left is setting up the scene you want to render. Some materials will need to be edited for the Opacity and 2 sided setting.

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Last edited by Coffee on Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:14 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:47 am
Posts: 385
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 665 times
Have thanks: 182 times
Coffee wrote:
what version of 3ds max are you using?
My treeview is nothing like that.

It's SAP Visual Enterprise Author (ex Deep Exploration), not max.
I use it for browsing, converting and storing models. Internal format (.rh) has lots of supporting features and very good compression - whole Tirpitz model packed into 2 mb in size (compressed .max is 7+ mb) without textures of course.
Also built-in renderer is good enough, even without material tuning (all glossy by default):
Image

Quote:
I don't think we want to make new materials just to make the names match the object. It would eat a 'boat load' of space, slow down export/import and make the FBX file larger.

It's possible to save original WoWS material names?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:50 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Quote:
It's possible to save original WoWS material names?


Maybe.. I'll need to get them from the .visual

_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: World of Warships
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:11 pm 
Offline
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:57 pm
Posts: 518
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 205 times
Ok.. using the Material names in the visual isn't a good idea.
So many models have the same material name.


Attachments:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Register to gain access.


_________________
I'd love to change the world but I can't get my hands on the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 768 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48 ... 52  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group