XeNTaX Forum Index
Forum MultiEx Commander Tools Tools Home
It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 5:56 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 393 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:52 am 
Offline
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 260
Has thanked: 41 times
Have thanks: 177 times

Tydeus wrote:
Does that include the map stuff from TWD3 too? I havent got to that game yet but I remember there was an issue with that.
...Ah, crap, I completely forgot to check that (and it turns out I accidentally broke it further!).

Script's fixed now! Sorry about that! And yeah, it should be working now as it was due to the same problem that the GotG models had.
https://mega.nz/#!X9oSlTLC!2-K7JYcGobjr ... -5stmRUyoA

You can make the ads go away by registering



Last edited by RandomTBush on Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:37 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:34 pm
Posts: 39
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 3 times
RandomTBush wrote:
Ah, crap, I completely forgot to check that (and it turns out I accidentally broke it further!).

Script's fixed now! Sorry about that! And yeah, it should be working now as it was due to the same problem that the GotG models had.
https://mega.nz/#!78wkHZBB!xB8sOiwMOd5t ... 2_V4jOSk8M
no worries! :) although now it means I have no excuse to put off TWD3 =/ lol

Escope12 wrote:
RandomTBush wrote:
Escope12 wrote:
Which quickbms script do I use to convert The Walking Dead Season 1 textures from D3DTX to DDS?
Doesn't TTArchExt have the ability to automatically convert those?
I’m not sure. I’ve used Telltale Explorer to convert them to dds.
I've had issues in the past trying to convert them to DDS with the TTArch thing myself, I think it brings up errors, but yeah Telltale Explorer works fine for the older games.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:10 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:06 pm
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Could somebody explain to me how exactly does this new option option works(the one where you can choose DDS or PNG), it can import meshes with textures already applied on it right? If so how can i do that? I already tried to put d3dtx files in the same folder as the .ms script, but it didn't applied textures automatically on mesh, then i tried to put all meshes, skl and d3dtx files in the folder where .ms file is located and it didn't worked out too!

P:S Also if i understand it all wrong, and i need to apply textures myself, i have one problem with it now, with the very new TTG games came out, there is that new texture files all models have now which looks something like that
sometexturename_microdetail_mask,
sometexturename_microdetail_spec,
sometexturename_anisotropymask,
sometexturename_anisotropytangent
and also some face textures called
sometexturename_headwrinkle_nm,
sometexturename_headwrinklea_mask,
sometexturename_headwrinkleb_mask.
So what i'm asking is, how do i apply them on basic textures? or on model? (but applying on textures will be better for porting purposes though, for which i actually need it)
And i really need to apply them, cuz textures looks different from ingame if you don't apply these ones on them!
PP:S Just if you curious, i am extracting Batman: The Enemy Within meshes (currently it's Harley, but i'm also planning to export all other Pact members(including goons) some items, and The Pact subway lair)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:50 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:34 pm
Posts: 39
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Maximmum wrote:
Could somebody explain to me how exactly does this new option option works(the one where you can choose DDS or PNG), it can import meshes with textures already applied on it right? If so how can i do that?
The older games like TWD season 1, Poker Night 2 etc come with pre-applied textures. I think the DDS or PNG thing is to search the folder specifically for that format, otherwise it doesnt really matter? I can't be sure about that.

For the later games, I tend to just drag and drop the textures onto specific parts of the model and hope for the best lol. The most part it's straight forward naming though, stuff like mask, bump, spec etc, you could open the material editor (hotkey M in 3ds max) and goto maps, I tend to leave those myself though, I probably shouldnt. I think for things like head wrinkle etc, those are just alternate skin textures usually like with The Walking Dead you have blood and tears, or a zombie face, and the details are those comic type lines on the characters. If you load the characters in using split, those additional mesh layers go with that, but if you can find a way to overlay the textures in photoshop or something, it'd be much better.

I suck at describing things :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:51 pm 
Offline
veteran

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:42 am
Posts: 81
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 1 time
I don’t know if I can post this here but I started a Model Ripping Project for Telltale Games if anyone is interested in helping out. https://www.vg-resource.com/thread-3062 ... #pid630088


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:43 am 
Offline
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 260
Has thanked: 41 times
Have thanks: 177 times
Maximmum wrote:
Could somebody explain to me how exactly does this new option option works(the one where you can choose DDS or PNG), it can import meshes with textures already applied on it right? If so how can i do that? I already tried to put d3dtx files in the same folder as the .ms script, but it didn't applied textures automatically on mesh, then i tried to put all meshes, skl and d3dtx files in the folder where .ms file is located and it didn't worked out too!

P:S Also if i understand it all wrong, and i need to apply textures myself, i have one problem with it now, with the very new TTG games came out, there is that new texture files all models have now which looks something like that
sometexturename_microdetail_mask,
sometexturename_microdetail_spec,
sometexturename_anisotropymask,
sometexturename_anisotropytangent
and also some face textures called
sometexturename_headwrinkle_nm,
sometexturename_headwrinklea_mask,
sometexturename_headwrinkleb_mask.
So what i'm asking is, how do i apply them on basic textures? or on model? (but applying on textures will be better for porting purposes though, for which i actually need it)
And i really need to apply them, cuz textures looks different from ingame if you don't apply these ones on them!
PP:S Just if you curious, i am extracting Batman: The Enemy Within meshes (currently it's Harley, but i'm also planning to export all other Pact members(including goons) some items, and The Pact subway lair)
Sure, I'll explain things a bit.

Basically, the changes made were to match a few of my other scripts a bit more. Let's just say you were importing Max's model from Sam & Max, and the folder it's in is as follows (doesn't need to be the same as the MaxScript):
Code:
C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\sk22_max.d3dmesh

With the new menu options, this is where it'll look for the textures for that:
Code:
DDS / Relative = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\sk22_max.dds
DDS / Textures = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\Textures\sk22_max.dds
PNG / Relative = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\sk22_max.png
PNG / Textures = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\Textures\sk22_max.png

The DDS / Textures combination is how it worked before the recent update. But yeah, there isn't a way to directly read D3DTX files, so you'll still need to convert those with either Telltale Explorer, or TTArchExt and one of my QuickBMS scripts. That being said, here's all of the games that don't work with automatically applying textures (I'll probably add some kinda note for 'em in a later update):
Code:
Batman: The Telltale Series
Batman: The Enemy Within (Season 2)
Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy
Minecraft: Story Mode
Minecraft: Story Mode Season 2
Tales from the Borderlands
The Walking Dead: Season 2
The Walking Dead: A New Frontier (Season 3)
The Walking Dead: Michonne
The Wolf Among Us
(And basically any other new Telltale game that is released)


As for all of the additional texture types, unfortunately I haven't done too much in the way of model renders or shaders so I can't say for sure what would be the proper way to apply them to the model.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:13 am 
Offline
veteran

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:42 am
Posts: 81
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 1 time
Something is wrong with the Clementine Hat UV from the first Clementine flashback from The Walking Dead Season 2.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:31 am 
Offline
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 260
Has thanked: 41 times
Have thanks: 177 times
Escope12 wrote:
Something is wrong with the Clementine Hat UV from the first Clementine flashback from The Walking Dead Season 2.
Image
Nope, you're just using the wrong texture. The one for that model is "obj_hatClementineBloody".
Image

This is why I mentioned earlier to try matching up the UV mapping to whatever texture matches it, you'll have a better understanding of 'em if you do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:46 pm 
Offline
veteran

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:42 am
Posts: 81
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 1 time
RandomTBush wrote:
Escope12 wrote:
Something is wrong with the Clementine Hat UV from the first Clementine flashback from The Walking Dead Season 2.
Image
Nope, you're just using the wrong texture. The one for that model is "obj_hatClementineBloody".
Image

This is why I mentioned earlier to try matching up the UV mapping to whatever texture matches it, you'll have a better understanding of 'em if you do.
I thought I was using the right texture for that.

Edit: I get this error when I try to import Alvin's Model from The Walking Dead Season 2.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:04 am 
Offline
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 260
Has thanked: 41 times
Have thanks: 177 times
Code:
Fixed importing models with vertex colours enabled because I'm a dumb fart who doesn't test everything.

https://mega.nz/#!X9oSlTLC!2-K7JYcGobjr ... -5stmRUyoA

Yep. Accidentally broke vertex colour importing. Don'tcha love hotfixes?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:45 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:06 pm
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 3 times
RandomTBush wrote:
Maximmum wrote:
Could somebody explain to me how exactly does this new option option works(the one where you can choose DDS or PNG), it can import meshes with textures already applied on it right? If so how can i do that? I already tried to put d3dtx files in the same folder as the .ms script, but it didn't applied textures automatically on mesh, then i tried to put all meshes, skl and d3dtx files in the folder where .ms file is located and it didn't worked out too!

P:S Also if i understand it all wrong, and i need to apply textures myself, i have one problem with it now, with the very new TTG games came out, there is that new texture files all models have now which looks something like that
sometexturename_microdetail_mask,
sometexturename_microdetail_spec,
sometexturename_anisotropymask,
sometexturename_anisotropytangent
and also some face textures called
sometexturename_headwrinkle_nm,
sometexturename_headwrinklea_mask,
sometexturename_headwrinkleb_mask.
So what i'm asking is, how do i apply them on basic textures? or on model? (but applying on textures will be better for porting purposes though, for which i actually need it)
And i really need to apply them, cuz textures looks different from ingame if you don't apply these ones on them!
PP:S Just if you curious, i am extracting Batman: The Enemy Within meshes (currently it's Harley, but i'm also planning to export all other Pact members(including goons) some items, and The Pact subway lair)
Sure, I'll explain things a bit.

Basically, the changes made were to match a few of my other scripts a bit more. Let's just say you were importing Max's model from Sam & Max, and the folder it's in is as follows (doesn't need to be the same as the MaxScript):
Code:
C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\sk22_max.d3dmesh

With the new menu options, this is where it'll look for the textures for that:
Code:
DDS / Relative = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\sk22_max.dds
DDS / Textures = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\Textures\sk22_max.dds
PNG / Relative = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\sk22_max.png
PNG / Textures = C:\Models\Sam & Max S1\E1\Textures\sk22_max.png

The DDS / Textures combination is how it worked before the recent update. But yeah, there isn't a way to directly read D3DTX files, so you'll still need to convert those with either Telltale Explorer, or TTArchExt and one of my QuickBMS scripts. That being said, here's all of the games that don't work with automatically applying textures (I'll probably add some kinda note for 'em in a later update):
Code:
Batman: The Telltale Series
Batman: The Enemy Within (Season 2)
Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy
Minecraft: Story Mode
Minecraft: Story Mode Season 2
Tales from the Borderlands
The Walking Dead: Season 2
The Walking Dead: A New Frontier (Season 3)
The Walking Dead: Michonne
The Wolf Among Us
(And basically any other new Telltale game that is released)


As for all of the additional texture types, unfortunately I haven't done too much in the way of model renders or shaders so I can't say for sure what would be the proper way to apply them to the model.

Alright i think i understand it now, thank you for that "massive" explanation :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:04 pm 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:34 pm
Posts: 39
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Has anybody had an issue getting specific maps into XNALara? I've had trouble with the Walking Dead season 1 map "adv_cancergrouphideoutroof". I've only tried porting it once but I figured before doing it again I'd ask. So the issue I'm having is something like "Destination array is not long enough to copy all the items in the collection. Check array index and length."

Edit:
I've narrowed down the problem to adv_cancergrouphideoutroof_meshesa.d3dmesh. First XNALara will say that it doesnt like meshesa_4 or 23, or 29, and removing those will just say "Unknown ascii". Could somebody else see if they can get this specific mesh in XNA? It's really annoying.

Edit #2:
Saving as Obj instead comes up with a warning while saving that 2 texture coords are out of range. Opening in XNALara will say.
https://puu.sh/y3SiS/ebe080e2c1.png

Edit #3:
I've got it! it was one of the white boards around the bottom of the hospital, removing that fixes all my problems.
https://puu.sh/y3T3P/0aabd53cd9.png


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:00 am 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:34 pm
Posts: 39
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Same issue on the 400 Days Truckstop Interior (chapter 5), Mesh E.

Lots of issues with that one. No errors, just issues.. well apart from that one error.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:13 am 
Offline
veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Posts: 139
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 100 times
Have thanks: 35 times
Tydeus wrote:
Same issue on the 400 Days Truckstop Interior (chapter 5), Mesh E.

Lots of issues with that one. No errors, just issues.. well apart from that one error.

There are most likely textures not auto assigned so xps errors on it or doesn't load it. Rather than deleting those meshes just assign the textures manually.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale Games "Almost-All-In-One" Model Importer
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:14 am 
Offline
beginner

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:34 pm
Posts: 39
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 3 times
o0Crofty0o wrote:
There are most likely textures not auto assigned so xps errors on it or doesn't load it. Rather than deleting those meshes just assign the textures manually.
I never tried that, but they did already have textures applied to them. I can usually port models without textures though. I think the map itself was a bit messed up and I'm a noob, when I tried to merge all the parts all the vertices merged weirdly, like a giant criss-cross all across the map. At least that 400 Days map.



Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 393 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amzerof6, Visker0z and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group